Rogue build

Discussions related to character builds and mechanics may occur here.

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Active DMs

Mustard Tiger

Rogue build

Post by Mustard Tiger » Mon Jul 16, 2018 11:31 am

I am an nwn vet but I am new to Arelith and the Arelith specific changes are tough for me to work out. I am trying to work out a rogue character, have him all worked out except the build itself. I am thinking of the following starting stats, 10,15,14,16,10,10. I am planning on using rapier/dagger, but would like the flexibility to use a shield or bow depending on party composition.

What I am unsure about is whether I should go pure rogue, 16 rogue, 4 fighter pre epic (for the extra attack + fighter profs and 2 bonus feats + discipline dump) and end up 26-4, or 24 rogue 6 fighter (reading the wiki, looks like rogues don't gain anything for going higher than 24 levels).

What are you Arelith veterans thoughts on a mostly rogue build on this server? Also do I need to max out disable/set trap on this server? Was planning on alternating them each level up for a 17/16 split. Are there any other rogue skills that do not need to be maxed?

Astegard
Arelith Gold Supporter
Arelith Gold Supporter

Re: Rogue build

Post by Astegard » Mon Jul 16, 2018 1:09 pm

I love pure rogue on this server and its great for utility.
The servers also offer great stuff you can find in chests that you can use with the right UMD.
You can be a true rogue here by avoiding attacking and relying on your AB until you've used gas or whatever to disable your opponent. (and the higher your rogue levels + dex the higher the DC)

I think people are still underestimating the rogue changes as they have never seen the grenades in action.
Choking gas for example has made all 20+ content nearly trivial if enemies aren't poison immune.
You get the anti contruct/undead grenades that do around 150 damage each at lvl 20. (IN AN AOE)