Druid Build?

Discussions related to character builds and mechanics may occur here.

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Active DMs

Seat the Chairless

Druid Build?

Post by Seat the Chairless » Sat May 19, 2018 11:59 pm

Hello all! I'm new to Arelith and looking for a solid Druid build. I'm a returning NwN RP'er but have no idea what to expect out of Arelith's builds, so I'm hoping someone might be able to provide a character sheet so I can jump right in!

1.) Would a caster-focused druid be just as viable as a melee shape shifting druid?
2.) Is multiclassing a good or bad idea for Druid in their current state?
3.) Is the totem druid any good? It sounds interesting but I don't see the pay off for the -4 Str/Dex/Con price.

Edit: Also, is the noob friendly starter zone only available in the city or will I be able to survive by starting out in the forest?

Baron Saturday

Re: Druid Build?

Post by Baron Saturday » Sun May 20, 2018 3:34 am

Hey, welcome! I'm no expert on druids, but I'll try to give basic answers to at least some of these.

1) Viable? Yes, because druid summons can carry hard. JUST AS viable? No, because extra DC and epic spells you pick up by focusing more on caster just aren't as effective as a tanky Elemental Monolith to the face.

2) Bad idea. Monolith shape is SOOOO much better than Elder shape. So good that even a discipline/tumble dump, ~15 extra AC and monk APR from a 3 level monk dip doesn't really compare.

3) I'm honestly not sure about Totem druid. I've seen some be really effective, that's for sure! They're basically druids that focus even more on shifting into melee forms. Have you looked at the stats Totem druids have while shifted? They certainly look scary on paper!