Important Skills? Pve and PvP.

Discussions related to character builds and mechanics may occur here.

Moderators: Active DMs, Forum Moderators

TheShadowdove

Important Skills? Pve and PvP.

Post by TheShadowdove » Sat Apr 21, 2018 12:21 pm

Hey forum lurkers,

I'm new to the server. There are tons of mechanical differences, and the item difference alone between servers makes builds very different.

Some servers have so many HIPSers that spot or listen is a must.

Others have such need to contest anti HIPSers that you NEED skill focus/epic s. Focus to hide from anyone.

Discipline is sometimes prioritized by PvP centric folks who experience a lot of knockdown spammers.

Some mages see skill proficiency concentration as important on servers with particularly high damage boosted weapons.

Other roleplay servers don't even bother with certain skills or feats such as discipline or tumble or spellcraft.

Disorganized blabbing and examples aside.

How important are skill focuses/epic skill focuses for mages, meleers, and sneakers in their respective skills?

Does a shadowdancer rogue type need skill focus and epic skill focus to do their job?

Does a mage need epic skill focus concentration to stay up?

Does everyone need discipline to not get knocked down by NPCs/players?

Should everyone be putting spare points into spellcraft for saves?

Is the search skill going to save your life from hyper powered traps multiple times per dungeon?

Do you need both skill focus and epic skill focus in your primary skills?

I look forward to seeing what you more experienced folks suggest.

Thanks in advance,

Dove

liver and bones

Re: Important Skills? Pve and PvP.

Post by liver and bones » Sat Apr 21, 2018 2:33 pm

Generally only hit early epics with my characters, but these are the most important skills I've found in order. Mind you this is strictly my opinion, and I tend to play spellcasters.

PvP:
Discipline
Heal
Spellcraft
Concentration
UMD (if you aren't a spellcaster)
Taunt