Gnomish barbarian 2H CON build: The Raging Penguin

Discussions related to character builds and mechanics may occur here.

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Active DMs

Hammerwell

Gnomish barbarian 2H CON build: The Raging Penguin

Post by Hammerwell » Sat Jan 20, 2018 8:08 am

When you've got that +2 CON, you might as well ham it up. This raging penguin's got a respectable starting STR, but he has more notably a starting CON of 21. Inspired by this Duergar Barbarian build thread, but planned by a total newbie when it comes to melee builds (and barbarians in particular).

I'd ideally like all the rage feats and EDRIII. I'm also undecided between Toughness and Great Cleave, but love the latter because raging penguins don't stop pecking while thirsting for blood.

Race: Rock Gnome (since Ice Gnomes are still undiscovered... right?)
Class spread: 20 Barbarian / 6 Fighter / 4 Barbarian
- STR 16, DEX 8, CON 19, INT 8, WIS 8, CHA 9
- Gift of might (18), gift of con (21)
- Only reaches STR 25 by level 28, but has CON 21 by level 1

Attribute increases: All STR
Kensai path (mastering the Great Rabbit Spirit's weapon of choice, of course)

1 B1 Weapon Focus
2 B2
3 B3 Knockdown
4 B4
5 B5
6 B6 Blind Fight
7 B7
8 B8
9 B9 Improved Critical
10 B
11 B
12 B Power Attack
13 B
14 B
15 B Cleave
16 B
17 B
18 B Great Cleave or Toughness
19 B
20 B
21 F1 EDR I, EDR II
22 F2 Overwhelming critical
23 F3
24 F4 EDR III, Weapon Specialization
25 F5
26 F6 Epic Weapon Focus
27 B21 Mighty Rage
28 B22 (STR is now 25)
29 B23 (Ensure Intimidate is at 25)
30 B24 Terrifying Rage, Thundering Rage

Skills: Discipline, Intimidate, Heal
Last edited by Hammerwell on Tue Jan 23, 2018 11:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Dalenger
Location: 422nd layer of the abyss, sacraficing some poor sap to Yeenoghu

Re: Gnomish barbarian 2H CON build: The Raging Penguin

Post by Dalenger » Tue Jan 23, 2018 7:16 pm