New player seeking help on Bard build

Discussions related to character builds and mechanics may occur here.

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Active DMs

calisto

New player seeking help on Bard build

Post by calisto » Sat Sep 02, 2017 1:08 am

Hello, I started playing on this server 3 days ago and I really like it. I've tried making a few characters and I think I want to settle on a Bard. I looked at the forums and people talk about level 30 characters and Bards actually being decent at combat, what a surprise !

I would like some advice on building my Bard, I mainly want to assist my group in battle with buffs, but also defend myself like those posts say. I have in mind to put levels in Harper Scout because I like that direction in the RP.

What kind of builds can I make to handle battle and assist my partners after casting my spells ?
Is there any point getting Bluff/Persuade skills on this server ?
Are the 'Mark of Destiny' and 'Sign of Humility' good ideas for leveling faster ?

Baron Saturday

Re: New player seeking help on Bard build

Post by Baron Saturday » Sat Sep 02, 2017 4:46 am

I would really not suggest taking either mark of destiny or mark of humility as a new player. Yes, they will help you level faster, but as someone who doesn't know the server well, you're considerably more likely to find yourself running low on lives before you get to higher levels. Besides, there's a ton of cool dungeons now, take your time, see it all!

Build-wise, I'll point you in the direction of Cortex's wonderful Optimal Good Builds Compendium. Keep in mind that there are mechanical changes to Harper Scout, which can be found on the wiki, and the class requires a DM token.

Hope that helps, and welcome to the server!
Rolled: Helene d'Arque, Sara Lyonall
Shelved: Kels Vetian, Cin ys'Andalis, Saul Haidt
Playing: Oshe Jordain

Sockss

Post by Sockss » Sat Sep 02, 2017 11:58 am

"Bardadin" is highly recommended, you can switch up paladin for 'Harper Paragon'.