New player with questions!

Discussions related to character builds and mechanics may occur here.

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Active DMs

WhiskeyGuy

New player with questions!

Post by WhiskeyGuy » Fri Aug 04, 2017 2:46 pm

Hello everyone,

I'm very new to Arelith, and still getting adjusted to the changes. I'm familiar with NWN, and have been playing for about 10 years, but, Arelith's systems have me wondering a few things.

1) Typically, what is the "best" gear you'll find/get or produce? +3 Armors, +4 weapons? This seems to be the highest I've seen mention of.

2) What is considered a good AB range? I've seen 43 as being subpar in some posts... This has me very confused since a 30 fighter gets +3 STR and +3 AB. If I assume starting with 18 STR, and a GR STR in the epics, that's 26 STR. -IF- they can max out their STR (see question #4), and took all the focus feats for their weapon and epic prowess and have a +4 weapon, they get 49 AB. To me, that wouldn't be a simple thing on Arelith to do. And that's the absolute highest then can achieve without minmaxing your STR to 20 or 22 with gifts/race/etc. So I wonder how anything that is not a caster or full BAB class gets anything not "subpar" or, were those posters merely thumbing their noses at a very tiny difference?

3) What is considered a good AC range? I can't see meleers breaking 50, and yet, in the Spellsword build talk they were hitting nearly 70. I can use my imagination to figure out how, but... for a meleer, what is generally accepted as "good" or "good enough" or... "achievable"?

4) Ability stacking. Can you wear two items that raise STR and have them stack? Also, in that same vein, what is the most ability you will find on items?