New Year Q&A with the Admin Team

Irongron
Server Owner/Creative Lead
Server Owner/Creative Lead

New Year Q&A with the Admin Team

Post by Irongron » Tue Jan 10, 2017 8:46 pm

For those with an interest in server direction, and more generally what goes through the heads of those running Arelith, here's a little interview with the core team (myself and Dunshine for the 'main' servers and Mithreas for FL). I'm sure some of our community will find parts of it interesting.

What would you consider your primary role on the team?

Dunshine: As an admin I'm mostly handeling player issues with cdkey keys and their characters. And ofcourse I keep a close eye on the forum for bug reports and player ideas/opinions and see if I can come up with new ideas to improve the server. Mostly my devwork is in scripting systems that are RP oriented.

Mithreas: FL developer, and with over 10 years' server administration experience, the wise old hand who can offer advice :-)

Irongron: Aside from being the current 'server owner' (I pay the bills), I'd generally consider myself the 'creative director' of Arelith, especially in regard to area projects.

How would you define Arelith?

Dunshine: A mighty fine community with lots of fond memories for me as a player in the past, and today as a dev/admin. Wish I had more time to actually play myself again.

Mithreas: A true CRPG environment, where players can create deep and meaningful stories with each other.

Irongron: As a game, first and foremost. This may sound kind of obvious but I strongly feel this should be an AD&D emulator. Which for me, encompasses not only the role-play of one's character, but a fun and challenging 'game' environment.

What do you consider Arelith's greatest quality?

Dunshine: Repeating myself here, but that would be the community. The players with their roleplay ingame and their input, either as player, or as DM, or as dev, Arelith is really something we made great together!