Kudos to the Underdark, the devs, and a bunch of other people from Isak Fisker

Praise and Honey Cookies from Players for Players, and Chocolate Cookies for the Devs

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Active DMs

KT28
Arelith Gold Supporter
Arelith Gold Supporter

Kudos to the Underdark, the devs, and a bunch of other people from Isak Fisker

Post by KT28 » Fri Jun 07, 2019 8:52 pm

I've been slowly writing this kudos post over the last several weeks, and with the servers being down yesterday I finally sat down and managed to finish it.

I'm an Arelith veteran at this point. I've been playing Arelith on and off since about 2009 (though with some extended breaks here and there), and it's been a very long time since I've written a kudos thread. The reason I haven't written a kudos thread in such a long time is because I haven't been this gripped by any game ever since I played a Hoarran monk dope called Nautilus now a decade ago, a character who provided me some of the fondest gaming and role-playing memories I had until recent history.

And I can genuinely say that a huge, enormous, massive amount of the reason I have been so gripped lately is because I did something I had never done before: I made an outcast and have been playing primarily in the Underdark, and having an unprecedented amount of fun. For the vast majority of my Arelith career, I was very averse to the idea of playing in the Underdark. There were a few reasons for that - a big one being unpleasant memories of the old Udos Dro'Xun and the (I perceived) siloed, stifled roleplay that occurred there. Another reason was that monster and drow roleplay just didn't appeal to me that much, and those were the only Underdark options at the time. When rolling up a new character, it was always just a given that it would be a surfacer; I honestly never even gave it a second thought.