New player advice

OOC General Discussion

Moderators: Active DMs, Forum Moderators

Malbec

New player advice

Post by Malbec » Sat Jun 11, 2016 7:56 am

Hi there! I'm Malbec

I'm new to Arelith. Dusted off my copy of nwn and glad to see there's still some multiplayer kicking. Any advice on starting a new character? And or is anyone keen to run around with me?
Oh is there a chat server on Arelith? I tried looking on the wiki for the irc but the chatroom seems empty.

Iceborn
Contributor
Contributor

Re: New player advice

Post by Iceborn » Sat Jun 11, 2016 8:38 am

Advice?
Drop a cat over a keyboard. Result is your new character.
If one cat is not enough, add more cats.
Jump to the game.
Obsessively greet and talk to every PC you find about how boring your trip to the island was.
State that you have absolutely no idea where you are.
????????
Profit!

This guide was brought to you by Ice. Powered by Ice Engine 3.
Misc Changes, with the Feats and Skills sublinks.
Available races
Spell Changes
Class Mechanics
Command Guide

Take a look before asking your questions!

Trishula

Post by Trishula » Sat Jun 11, 2016 9:07 am

If you actually read into iceborn's response there is actual advice there.

Seriously? It's the little things that matter. having learnt the hard way recently, Drama isn't that great. Little things like emotes, and knowing things like how your character reacts in snow, or if they like to swim, or if they are vegetarian. They matter, not lying on the floor bleeding and groaning (been there done that: Stellen Varg's player will attest).

Talk to everyone. When doing the speedy delivery quest (if you're one who chose the surface cities) actually ask for directions. You can make great friends from that.

If you chose underdark, i'd highly suggest sticking with someone that has been down there a while to learn the intricate little mannerisms and "etiquette" regarding drow