Good way to fix Dwarven Defender

OOC General Discussion

Moderators: Active DMs, Forum Moderators

Ambigue

Good way to fix Dwarven Defender

Post by Ambigue » Tue Oct 03, 2017 7:20 pm

As you guys all know, I am an expert at game balance, game design, and clear communication. I am also a creature of deep and resplendent humility and a level of self-awareness that has transcended zen.

I have never been unreasonably angry about anything ever.

After deep meditations, punctuated by bouts of sobbing and violent gastro-intestinal distress, my spirit-guide has lead me to the answer to the question that I didn't know needed to be asked:

"Why do Dwarven Defenders kind of suck?" Because they're class ability roots them in place and has limited uses. Since it's impossible to script that to have more uses or run off of a cooldown, the obvious answer is to have them move while standing in place.

I offer you the following elegant solution, as proto-typed in my Crucible of Visionary Design. You are welcome, Arelith.

High Primate

Re: Good way to fix Dwarven Defender

Post by High Primate » Tue Oct 03, 2017 8:17 pm

That's not a dwarf.
Some builds I've worked on (not recommended):
Charisma Battlecleric
"E-Dodge Brycer"

Ambigue

Post by Ambigue » Tue Oct 03, 2017 8:28 pm

High Primate wrote:That's not a dwarf.
Clearly you've never read Barrelgold Beeraxe's insightful treatise on the nature of dwarfdom. It is called "I....Dwarf?" and can be purchased from my fine and exclusively imaginary retailers. His stance is that Dwarfdom is as much cultural as it is hereditary and that one can be a Dwarf without being a dwarf and that one can be a dwarf without being a Dwarf.

Englebert, here, self-identifies as a "Para-Gnomish Radboi" but assures me his parents were both staunch Dwarf traditionalists. When asked, he indicated that this was not a 'phase' he is going through.

Xuuldar

Post by Xuuldar » Tue Oct 03, 2017 8:47 pm