Random encounters?

You have questions? We may have answers.

Moderators: Active DMs, Forum Moderators

DSM-IV

Random encounters?

Post by DSM-IV » Wed Jun 03, 2015 8:57 pm

Ok, I don't know if this is this FOIG, so just delete if it is, but there is a Epic elder White dragon sitting on top of the Portal in the Scull Crags. Now I didn't have a chance and died the moment I ported in. I don't know if this is part of the random encounters, but similar things have been happening to me since the update went in. Epic level bad guys that my character has no chance against spawning on top of me.

Look, I am a horrible character builder and play this for RP only, but it takes me FOREVER to get XP and these respawns are driving me nuts. I can't travel anywhere alone because I can't sneak past a lot of these things. Or I am in a hurry to get to a meeting and an epic level baddy jumps me out of no where. Being a rouge is hard enough as it is, is this suppose to be how the encounters work?
Not a Harper

Irongron
Server Owner/Creative Lead

Re: Random encounters?

Post by Irongron » Wed Jun 03, 2015 9:11 pm

There aren't many epic creature locations in the spawn system, and an adult white dragon, I think it should be, only spawns at a very low chance, and only for PCs who have a higher level that its CR rating.

Also they should generally spawn some distance from your character, and not on top of them, in most cases anyway. Things like this will likely need adjustment over time though. Feel free to PM details of your character, the enemy you faced, and where you met it.

Madukthedoppelganger

Post by Madukthedoppelganger » Wed Jun 03, 2015 9:18 pm

Could it have been spawned by an earlier visitor, who did not want to/could not take care of the dragon?

Syrima

Post by Syrima » Wed Jun 03, 2015 9:20 pm

How does it handle people who just ditch their encounter?
Something spawns for a high person, high person ignores/doesn't see it, leaves it there.