Gift of (Un)Holy vs Cleric

You have questions? We may have answers.

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Active DMs

ltlukoziuz

Gift of (Un)Holy vs Cleric

Post by ltlukoziuz » Tue Aug 07, 2018 7:50 pm

Hey all. Bit by bit, I am planning on the contingency of what would I play if Delor's story would ever end, and one of the ideas I had in my brain was playing a priest of a certain deity. However, I have little experience of playing casters, so I was thinking of building it without Cleric levels in it, and, instead, taking the Gift of (Un)Holy.

Question: Are there any differences mechanically wise that I could not pull of if I was Gifted and not a Cleric? (Not able to perform a specific ritual/ceremony; not able to access some FOIG bit which is meant for Clerics but not Gifted (don't spoil it if that's true though); etc.)

Currently playing: Sabina Paultier

BegoneThoth

Re: Gift of (Un)Holy vs Cleric

Post by BegoneThoth » Tue Aug 07, 2018 8:40 pm

Frankly, the amount of RP you get out of mechanically consecrating altars is almost nil. And if you need one consecrated that badly, you can generate RP by finding a cleric and having them do it.

There are better gifts for any situation.
Question: Are there any differences mechanically wise that I could not pull of if I was Gifted and not a Cleric? (Not able to perform a specific ritual/ceremony; not able to access some FOIG bit which is meant for Clerics but not Gifted (don't spoil it if that's true though); etc.)
It's the same. It's not a good gift at all. And a good sermon in a 'holy' place is going to rouse even if you click on the holy altar and it doesn't say the name of your god.
\

Nitro

Post by Nitro » Tue Aug 07, 2018 11:36 pm

To contrast, if you plan on following some niche deity, not being able to consecrate yourself can mean going RL months between getting altars consecrated because there's just no Cleric chars of that deity.

Wytchee
Arelith Silver Supporter
Arelith Silver Supporter