Pinging dm/admin etiquette question

You have questions? We may have answers.

Moderators: Active DMs, Forum Moderators

Horselords

Pinging dm/admin etiquette question

Post by Horselords » Sat Mar 25, 2017 9:49 am

Hi there!

So well i work in the video game industry and my "girlfriend" is community manager so yeah i m familiar with how obnoxious/entitled certain players can be toward staff. Something i really dont want to be. Even more with people that give their free time.

So let s say you have an issue that prevents you from playing*/that you perceive as important for yourself (to some extent), you call the staff for help on the forum (pm), what would be the polite/appropriate waiting time before sending another plea if you werent answered? Few days? A week? Two? Same question for admins (which are probably that much more swamped with requests)?

Or you should never duplicate a plea and have faith that your case will be treated in time according to a waiting list?

Thanks!

*wich slowly creates an arelith withdrawal syndrome ;)hehe (joking)

Mithreas
Emeritus Admin
Emeritus Admin

Re: Pinging dm/admin etiquette question

Post by Mithreas » Sat Mar 25, 2017 10:11 am

Speaking personally...

If you have an issue that's preventing you playing at all, I'm sympathetic to daily chases. On a team like this one, there are a number of us who are *able* to help out, even though we're no longer *responsible* for it - so if the main guys are busy, we can step in and fix things.

Anything else - e.g. a DM report, token request, "anything else you perceive as important" - if you've not had a reply to your email/PM, the first thing I'd recommend is regularly pinging the DM channel. If after a week that's not got you a result, a follow-up email explaining that you've been trying the DM channel for a week without luck seems entirely reasonable to me.

-Mith